Sunday, March 22, 2026

What Happened to the UFC?

As I said in yesterday's post, my TV consumption consists of the Reality TV trinity: First 48, Jeopardy, and UFC.

Recently the UFC signed a new deal with Paramount +. It got rid of the PPV model, which is a good thing for people who actually spent $100 to watch 5 fights. Although I would speculate that roughly 1 in 10 people who watched the UFC PPV's actually paid for them. According to friends, it was never hard to find a stream online.

However, ever since this new deal (and even before; there was like 6 weeks without any fights) the quality of fights have just been crapola. 

It's easy to play armchair quarterback. Everyone thinks they know more than they do. But some of these fights are atrocious and completely uninteresting.

Just look at the UFC London card from yesterday. Who would pay to watch that card? That MVP fight was horrible. The UFC should cut that guy.

I hated watching MVP even when he was in Bellator. He is such a boring fighter to watch. A lot of people would say "it's his style," but Wonderboy Thompson has the same karate style and his fights are never boring. MVP just sucks to watch.

Who knows, maybe I'm just racist. But did you watch that fight?

I mentioned the new deal with Paramount because I think it was for like $8 billion over a few years. And I wonder if the UFC struck gold with that deal and they just don't really care anymore. They're getting paid, so complacency has set in.

Or maybe the deal was bad and they can't afford to pay the fighters enough to make good fights.

In any event, they really need to step up their game, because these fight cards have been whack.

Everyone had such huge expectations for the White House card, and did you see what it ended up being? 


The main event will be good, but Nickal vs Daukaus? Really?

Maybe I'm just being cynical, but if you have the opportunity to put on a monumental show at the White House, the card should be better than this. 

Be honest, aside from the Gaethje vs Topuria fight (which is going to result in Gaethje going night-night), are you excited about any of those fights? Even the press conference is going to suck.

I mean, sure, I'm going to watch, but will I be counting down the days in excitement? Not a chance.

Maybe there will be some bangers on the prelims.

Cheers! 

No comments:

Post a Comment

What Happened to the UFC?

As I said in yesterday's post , my TV consumption consists of the Reality TV trinity: First 48, Jeopardy, and UFC. Recently the UFC sign...